Behind the Piece: Antique Shabby Chic Mirror

I thought it might be fun for you to see before and afters of certain pieces in the shop.  If there is a story behind it, I’ll try to tell it in posts like these.  My first post is about a great mirror I picked up at an antique store.  It was kind of hidden away and ignored but I loved the curves of the body of the mirror and the scroll work on the top.
???????????????????????????????

While it was a pretty color on its own, there were some scratches and dings I needed to sand down, fill and such.  Since the lines really screamed shabby chic/French country, that was the style I went for.   The back has this great original wood that I assume someone used to reinforce the back when they moved it from a dresser (there are two holes on the side of the mirror) to hang it on the wall.  The old, brittle wire was replaced with new picture wire.

IMG_2617

The back original wood was kept intact but the old wire was replaced.

It took a bit of love with filling, sanding, painting and polying the piece but I gave it a nice shine with glass cleaner.  Some of the de-silvering spots around a few of the edges are present but it adds to the charm of the piece and I think any vintage lover would agree.

mirrorBA

If you’re interested in owning this beautiful refinished mirror, you can see the listing here.

Leave a Reply

